Board of Directors

Allan Foster


Allan Foster, Kantara Initiative President
ForgeRock Vice President Community –
Allan is currently VP Community at ForgeRock Inc.As one of the founders of ForgeRock, he has helped build ForgeRock into a multinational Identity Management software vendor with offices on four continents. Having served in multiple positions during its startup, Allan is now responsible for leading the worldwide ForgeRock community. This includes the contributing developer community, as well as the representation of ForgeRock on multiple standards committees.

In the twenty years prior to ForgeRock, Allan founded and ran a successful small consulting business focusing on the Identity Management space, with clients all over the world. With a small and dedicated staff, Guru Associates built a reputation for delivering projects on time, and under budget. Allan is a sought after speaker at international technical conferences where he has spoken on various technical topics.

RW-Post-Expo (1)

Internet Society (ISOC)

Robin Wilton, Kantara Initiative Treasurer
Technical Outreach Director for Identity and Privacy
, on the Internet Society’s Trust and Identity team. He is a specialist in digital identity, IT security and public policy, with almost 30 years experience in systems engineering, consulting and industry analyst roles. Robin was at IBM for 12 years, joined Internet start-up JCP Trustbase in 1997, and spent 8 years at Sun Microsystems following its acquisition of JCP. After leaving Sun, Robin set up and ran an independent consultancy, then joined Gartner Group as an analyst on privacy, PKI and federated identity. In 2012 he joined the Internet Society.

Robin has a reputation for translating complex topics between technologists, business-people and policy-makers. His particular interest is in how social constructs such as identity, privacy and trust are mediated through technology. His technical outreach activity includes work with the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), IT vendors and higher education consortia. He also contributes to policy work through bodies such as the Council of Europe and the OECD, where he is a member of the Internet Technical Advisory Committee (ITAC) and a regular contributor to the proceedings of the Working Party on Security and Privacy in the Digital Economy.

CA Technologies

Lina Liberti, Kantara Initiative Director
Vice President, Security Business Strategy – Lina Liberti has spent over 20 years in the security industry focusing on security strategy, product management and strategic product marketing for various IT security vendors. With a focus on the company’s identity and access management portfolio, Lina works closely with the team and CA’s customers to help ensure CA’s solutions support customer needs.

Prior to joining CA Technologies, Lina was product line manager for emerging technologies at RSA, where she oversaw product management and product marketing for RSA’s single sign-on, smart card, and public key infrastructure (PKI) technologies. Before RSA, Lina managed product management and product marketing at Memco before it was acquired by Platinum.

She has spoken at several leading security industry conferences, was a board member of CoreBlox and is a member of the Founder’s Circle for the RSA Conference.


Julian Ranger, Kantara Initiative Director
Chairman and Founder of –
Julian founded his first business STASYS, specialising in the military internet, in 1987 and grew it to a major multi-national business before selling to Lockheed Martin in 2005. Julian is an angel investor (e.g. Hailo, DataSift, Astrobotic) and is the founder of, which is re-imagining the personal Internet.

Nat Sakimura

Nomura Research Institute (NRI)

Nat Sakimura, Kantara Initiative Director
Research Lead Digital Identity –
Nat Sakimura is the research lead on Digital Identity at Nomura Research Institute (NRI). Bringing Power to control his identity in the Cyber Space back to the People is what he aims at. He was a co-outher of OpenID Provider Authentication Policy Extension (PAPE) specification, the OpenID Connect Core and Artifact Binding specification, JSON Web Token (JWT) specification, XRD specification, and the co-chair of the OASIS Open Reputation Management Systems TC. He has been the elected member of the OpenID Foundation board since 2008 as well as the founding board member of the Kantara Initiative. He has served in various Japanese government committees and is currently a member of the (Identity) Information Coordination Platform Technical Working Group in the Cabinet Secretariat which deals with the forthcoming Citizen Identity system. Nat holds a M.SA degree in Economics from University of Western Ontario, and a B.A. in Economics from Hitotsubashi University, Japan. His interests include digital identity, privacy, distributed systems, music, and poetry.

Leadership Council Representatives

Ken Dagg Ken Dagg
Ken Dagg is currently the chair of the Kantara Initiative IAWG. Mr. Dagg is an independent Identity and Authentication consultant who provides clients with strategic and tactical advice on how to improve their digital service offerings.
Prior to his retirement from the Canadian Federal Government in December 2013 Mr. Dagg was the senior architect of the Cyber Authentication and Identity Management Program of the Government of Canada (GC). In this role he oversaw the replacement of the government’s proprietary cyber authentication system with a new open standards based federation of online credentials from both the private and public sectors that saved the government approximately $35m annually.
Throughout the rest of his diverse thirty-nine year career in the government, educational, scientific and business sectors, Mr. Dagg continuously provided managers at all levels with high quality advice on how to use technology to transform their operations and realize improvements in their effectiveness and efficiency.
Mark Lizar Mark Lizar
Mark is a recognised socioligist with academic expertise in privacy and surveillance. Working on the forefront of digital identity management, trust and personal data control. Mark has spent his career engineering privacy and consent solutions at market and global scale.
Now leading an expert team working on a consent gateway solution which enables existing public and private sectors with above compliance consent and notice. Open Consent Group based in London UK, aims to continue to lead the globe in enabling consistent consent for data subject rights with an exciting tool set for next generation privacy.

Executive Director

Colin Wallis Colin Wallis
Being based in New Zealand adds significant challenges of distance and time, but that hasn’t hindered Colin noticeably. With typical Kiwi pragmatism, he has cultivated an enviable understanding of North American and European identity programs, and a corresponding network of relationships with key stakeholders around the world.
In his new role Colin will relocate from New Zealand, reflecting Kantara’s global membership and the importance of Europe to its assurance system and emergent privacy-enabled suite of tools.Colin is respected in the ‘identerati’ community for a contribution that is technically deep and geographically global. It includes work in:

  • the OASIS technical committees of Security Services, Trust Elevation, Privacy by Design for Software Engineers & Transformational Government;
  • the New Zealand Chapter of the Cloud Security Alliance (CSA);
  • ISO JTC1 SC27 (as New Zealand’s Head of Delegation) where he played a key part in CSA’s successful bid to host New Zealand’s first ever SC27 meeting next year.

In the United States Identity Ecosystem Steering Group (IDESG), he is the stakeholder delegate for interoperability at Management Council/Board level, and currently Chairs the International Co-ordination Committee.

Meet the Team