Child pages
  • Blinding Identity Taxonomy

Versions Compared


  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

The release of the Blinding Identity Taxonomy (BIT) Initiative on September 9th has the aim of providing needed common standards to help protect the privacy of personally identifiable information (PII) about people, organizations, or things. BIT classifies 42 46 different PII elements (see the list below) which require cryptographically encoding to prevent the identification of individuals and any information associated with them. Some of these elements can directly identify individuals, such as a name, physical address or bank account details, and some of them can do so indirectly, such as a photo, IP address or cookie browser identifier.


The essence of the BIT initiative is in the 42 46 elements, which require encryption when they are stored in databases, regardless of whether these are on the cloud, in local servers or anywhere else.