[KI-LC] LC Next Steps

J. Trent Adams adams at isoc.org
Fri May 22 12:24:35 PDT 2009


UPDATE:

I'd mistakenly referenced the next call time, if my proposal is
accepted.  For clarity, here is the complete proposal (again), this time
with the correct time:

Speaking to the call schedule, I propose:

    (A) we hold weekly calls each Wednesday

    (B) alternating call times between:

            8am PDT / 11am EDT / 15:00 UTC [1]
            3pm PDT /  6pm EDT /  22:00 UTC [2]

This schedule would allow us to (a) meet one day prior to the currently
scheduled call of the Board (in case we want to propose agenda items),
and (b) enables a wide participation overlap across time zones.

Please reply to this list if you would like to propose an alternate
calling schedule.  If there are enough divergent opinions I'll create a
Doodle Poll.  Otherwise, please plan on the next call being next
Wednesday, May 27th at 22:00 UTC.

Apologies for the confusion.

- Trent


J. Trent Adams wrote:
> All -
>
> Since apparently everyone else took one step back while I wasn't paying
> attention, I find myself as the Interim Chair for the KI Leadership
> Council.  Lesson learned: pay more attention and keep quiet.
>
> First of all, congratulations to Iain Henderson (et al.) on approval of
> the first official Kantara Initiative Working Group:
>
> User Driven Information Technology Work Group
> http://kantarainitiative.org/confluence/x/BwAj
>
> Woot!
>
> Joni - As someone with global edit capability (and since you're so good
> at it), please go ahead and update the Kantara Initiative website to
> reflect the change from being "Proposed" to "Official".  I see the
> charter has been updated, but the WG homepage should be updated, too. 
> I'm not sure what's entailed, so please let the group know if there's
> anything we can do to help.
>
> Moving forward, here are some steps from today's call we need to accomplish:
>
>  1. Determine a call schedule.
>  2. Determine a date for the first face-to-face meeting.
>  3. Determine a procedure for electing LC Officers.
>  4. Determine an email discussion list process.
>  5. Formalize WG / DG approval process (and get moving).
>
> My suggestion is that we can work on 1, 2, 3, and 4 on the LC list
> rather than waiting for the next call (or at least get a lot of the
> issues raised).
>
> Speaking to the call schedule, I propose:
>
>     (A) we hold weekly calls each Wednesday
>
>     (B) alternating call times between:
>
>             8am PDT / 11am EDT / 15:00 UTC [1]
>             3pm PDT /  6pm EDT /  22:00 UTC [2]
>
> This schedule would allow us to (a) meet one day prior to the currently
> scheduled call of the Board (in case we want to propose agenda items),
> and (b) enables a wide participation overlap across time zones.
>
> Please reply to this list if you would like to propose an alternate
> calling schedule.  If there are enough divergent opinions, I'll create a
> Doodle Poll.  Otherwise, please plan on the next call being next
> Wednesday, May 27th at 20:00 UTC.
>
> In order to simplify the discussion process, I'll break the remaining
> discussion items into separate threads.  That way we should be able to
> more easily discuss them without forcing people to rethread the items.
>
> Thanks for participating (and your vote of confidence in my helping keep
> the ball moving).
>
> Cheers,
> Trent
>
> [1]
> http://timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?month=5&day=26&year=2009&hour=15&min=0&sec=0&sort=2
>
> [2]
> http://timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?month=5&day=26&year=2009&hour=22&min=0&sec=0&sort=2
>
>   

-- 
J. Trent Adams
=jtrentadams

Outreach Specialist, Trust & Identity
Internet Society
http://www.isoc.org

e) adams at isoc.org
o) 703-439-2149





More information about the LC mailing list