[KI-LC] LC Next Steps

J. Trent Adams adams at isoc.org
Fri May 22 11:25:06 PDT 2009


All -

Since apparently everyone else took one step back while I wasn't paying
attention, I find myself as the Interim Chair for the KI Leadership
Council.  Lesson learned: pay more attention and keep quiet.

First of all, congratulations to Iain Henderson (et al.) on approval of
the first official Kantara Initiative Working Group:

User Driven Information Technology Work Group
http://kantarainitiative.org/confluence/x/BwAj

Woot!

Joni - As someone with global edit capability (and since you're so good
at it), please go ahead and update the Kantara Initiative website to
reflect the change from being "Proposed" to "Official".  I see the
charter has been updated, but the WG homepage should be updated, too. 
I'm not sure what's entailed, so please let the group know if there's
anything we can do to help.

Moving forward, here are some steps from today's call we need to accomplish:

 1. Determine a call schedule.
 2. Determine a date for the first face-to-face meeting.
 3. Determine a procedure for electing LC Officers.
 4. Determine an email discussion list process.
 5. Formalize WG / DG approval process (and get moving).

My suggestion is that we can work on 1, 2, 3, and 4 on the LC list
rather than waiting for the next call (or at least get a lot of the
issues raised).

Speaking to the call schedule, I propose:

    (A) we hold weekly calls each Wednesday

    (B) alternating call times between:

            8am PDT / 11am EDT / 15:00 UTC [1]
            3pm PDT /  6pm EDT /  22:00 UTC [2]

This schedule would allow us to (a) meet one day prior to the currently
scheduled call of the Board (in case we want to propose agenda items),
and (b) enables a wide participation overlap across time zones.

Please reply to this list if you would like to propose an alternate
calling schedule.  If there are enough divergent opinions, I'll create a
Doodle Poll.  Otherwise, please plan on the next call being next
Wednesday, May 27th at 20:00 UTC.

In order to simplify the discussion process, I'll break the remaining
discussion items into separate threads.  That way we should be able to
more easily discuss them without forcing people to rethread the items.

Thanks for participating (and your vote of confidence in my helping keep
the ball moving).

Cheers,
Trent

[1]
http://timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?month=5&day=26&year=2009&hour=15&min=0&sec=0&sort=2

[2]
http://timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?month=5&day=26&year=2009&hour=22&min=0&sec=0&sort=2

-- 
J. Trent Adams
=jtrentadams

Outreach Specialist, Trust & Identity
Internet Society
http://www.isoc.org

e) adams at isoc.org
o) 703-439-2149





More information about the LC mailing list