File Download: Identity Assurance Framework: Assurance Levels

Title: Identity Assurance Framework: Assurance Levels

Version: 2.0

Date: 2010-04-24

Editor: Britta Glade

Status: n/a

The Kantara Initiative Identity Assurance Work Group (IAWG) was formed to foster adoption of identity trust services. The primary deliverable of the IAWG is the Identity Assurance Framework (IAF), which is comprised of many different documents that detail the levels of assurance and the certification program that bring the Framework to the marketplace. The IAF is comprised of a set of documents that includes an Overview publication, the IAF Glossary, a summary Assurance Levels document, and an Assurance Assessment Scheme (AAS), which encompasses the associated assessment and certification program, as well as several subordinate documents, among them the Service Assessment Criteria (SAC), which establishes baseline criteria for general organizational conformity, identity proofing services, credential strength, and credential management services against which all CSPs will be evaluated. This document overviews the four Levels of Assurance, on which the IAF is based, as posited by the U.S. Federal Government and described in OMB M-04-04 [M-04-04] and NIST Special Publication 800-63 [NIST800-63]. These are further described in this document.

Filename: Kantara IAF-1200 Levels of Assurance v2-0.pdf

Download PDF