Child pages
  • CIWG Meeting Minutes-2010-02-09
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Kantara Consumer Identity WG Teleconference

Date and Time

  • Date: Tuesday, February 9, 2010
  • Time: 8 AM PDT | 11 AM EDT | 4 PM UK | 4PM UTC
  • Call-in Info: Skype: ++9900827044630912
                       US/Canada Dial-In: +1-201-793-9022 | Room Code: 4630912
                       UK  +44 (0) 8454018081

Attendees

  • Bob Pinheiro, Robert Pinheiro Consulting (voting)
  • Mark Anderson, US Bank (non-voting)
  • Mark Dixon, Oracle (non-voting)
  • Dervla O'Reilly, Kantara Initiative (non-voting)

Apologies

  • Trent Adams, Internet Society (voting)
  • Iain Henderson, MyDex (voting)

Quorum not met.

Agenda

Continue discussion on what it will take to get high assurance identity credentials into widespread use by consumers.

A preliminary list of criteria for deployment and adoption of high assurance identity credentials might start as follows:

  • Incentives/motivation for service providers / relying parties to use strong authentication for protection of high value, consumer-facing accounts and resources.
  • Business drivers for identity providers that can issue high assurance credentials to consumers.
  • Need for rigorous identity proofing prior to issuing high assurance credentials, versus a need for strong authentication technology only.
  • Authentication form factors that are usable and convenient for consumers to use.
  • Consumer education / awareness.

Minutes

  1. General discussion of criteria for deployment and adoption of high assurance identity credentials for consumers
  2. Reiterated importance of usability/ease of use of identity technologies for consumers
  3. Discussed pros and cons of banks, motor vehicle agencies acting as identity providers for digital consumer identities
 

Next Meeting

  • Date: Tuesday, <no date set>, 2010
  • Time: 9 AM PT | 12 Noon ET | 5 PM UK | 17:00 UTC (Time Chart)
  • Dial-In: Skype: ++9900827044630912
                       US/Canada Dial-In: +1-201-793-9022
                       UK  +44 (0) 8454018081
  • Code: 4630912
  • No labels